Small Cool 2010: Redux

Quite frankly, I’m still slightly in shock over being featured on Apartment Therapy.

But I have a confession: for the first 48 hours worth of thumbs-upping, I was obsessing over how much I hated the photos I submitted!  Heeding AT’s advice to “be aware that room shots that help explain the space are more important than close-up vignettes,” I posted mostly wide-angle shots which seemed to show too much at once.  Clicking through the photos, I couldn’t help but agree with one commenter’s observation that things “looked a little cluttered.”

I’ve given a lot of thought to how I would have resubmitted if I were able.  I’m not ashamed of what I wrote or my rudimentary floor plan (though this time I would have remembered to include the bathroom–oops!), but those photos would have been out the door in favor of ones that better showcased what was unique about my space.

Here are the five I think I would have gone with:

And of course, by popular demand, darling Jersey:
 

Who knows whether I would have earned more “thumbs ups” with the above photos than with the pics that made it onto the site.  Win or lose, I’m still thrilled to have been featured!

This entry was posted in my place. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment